Grande Miniera Serbariu
Visit the underground galleries, the museum and relive the experience of the Sulcis miner. An exclusive journey into the underworld of the earth.
There Great Serbariu Mine represented, between the thirties and fifties of the twentieth century, one of the most important energy resources in Italy. It officially began its production activity in 1939 and ceased production in 1964.
The Coal Museum was inaugurated on November 3, 2006 . The moment of the reopening of the gates of the Great Mine was underlined by the sound of the old siren of the same mine, put back into operation by an elderly miner.
The complex was recovered and renovated for museum and educational purposes; the project for the recovery and enhancement of the site has made the buildings and mining structures that today make up the Coal Museum usable. The Museum includes the premises of the lamplight , of the underground tunnel and the winch room.
The museum also houses the bookshop, where it is possible to buy books on the subject and gadgets, the cafeteria and a conference room with 130 armchairs and an audio-video system. In the shop there is a selection of mining-related texts, on the city of Carbonia, children’s books, novels and texts on related topics. It is possible to buy T-shirts with the Museum logo and with the mascot Crabò, a miner goat designed by Stefano Asili. Crabò and other symbols of the mine are also found on magnets, pencils, backpacks and shopping bags, mugs and other gadgets. Mine lamps, ceramics and local handicrafts, accessories and games complete the offer. The shop also sells the Carbone wine, Carignano del Sulcis DOC, bottled by the Cantina di Santadi exclusively for the Museo del Carbone.
In the city of Carbonia
During this period, restrictions, limitations or suspension of activities may be applied due to the Corona Virus. Contact the Cooperative to find out if the site is open to the public and any measures taken for your safety